April 1, 2003 News and Notes

first_img Anthony J. Fantauzzi III, of Fowler White Boggs Banker, has been elected to the Leadership Council of the American Diabetes Association. Phillip Turner King, of Fisher, Rushmer, Werrenrath, Dickson, Talley & Dunlap, P.A., Orlando, has been elected to membership in ABOTA and Central Florida chapter of same. Todd Katz, president of Tarpon Coast National Bank, has been voted chair of the Florida Bankers’ Association’s Government Relations Committee. Tom Scarritt, president of Scarritt Law Group, joined other trial lawyers in presenting a seminar titled “Proving and Defending Damages” in Tampa. Charles B. Costar III, a shareholder with Zimmerman, Shuffield, Kiser & Sutcliffe, P.A., Orlando, was appointed the chair’s at large representative on the Orange County Board of Zoning Adjustment. Carolyn House Stewart, of Macfarlane Ferguson & McMullen, Tampa, has been elected international secretary of the Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc. Frank Brogan, of Greenberg Traurig, Ft. Lauderdale, will serve as fund-raising campaign chair for the Broward County Chapter of the United Way. Charles D. Tobin, of Holland & Knight, LLP, Washington, D.C., facilitated a panel discussion titled “Hot Issues in Access, Newsgathering, and Subpoenas,” at the American Bar Association Forum on Communications Law conference in Scottsdale, Az. Eduardo Palmer, of Steel, Hector & Davis, LLP, Miami, served as chair of the first annual Miami International Arbitration Conference in Miami Beach. Karen Stedronsky, of Baker & Hostetler, LLP, Orlando, co-wrote an article titled “Developing Timeshare in the Bahamas,” which was published in the January 2003 issue of Developments Magazine. McGuire Woods, LLP, Jacksonville, received a Gold IMA award in an independent survey that reviewed and rated the Web sites of the 250 largest law firms in the U.S. T. Spencer Crowley and Jason S. Lichtstein, associates of Gunster Yoakley, were named to the Greater Miami Chamber of Commerce Transportation Executive Committee. Carolyn Delizia, Tyra Read, and Laurie Anton, associates with Henderson, Franklin, Starnes & Holt, P.A., Fort Myers, have been appointed as officers of the Lee County Association for Women Lawyers, and will serve as president, vice president and secretary/chapter representative respectively, for a one-year term ending in 2004. Thomas M. Messana, of Ruden, McClosky, Smith, Schuster & Russell, P.A., was selected to contribute an article to the 2002 Bankruptcy Law Update, a book which provides in-depth analysis of issues impacting bankruptcy practice. Stephen R. Looney, of Dean, Mead, Egerton, Bloodworth, Capouano & Bozarth, P.A., Orlando, participated in a panel discussion titled “Coggins Automotive Corporation: Is LIFO Recapture a Dead Letter?,” at the ABA Tax Section’s S Corporations Committee 2003 midyear meeting in San Francisco. Leslie O’Neal-Coble, of Holland & Knight, LLP, Orlando, was elected to membership of the American Board of Trial Advocates. Pedro Freyre, of Akerman Senterfitt, Miami, received the Ghandi King Ikeda Award from Morehouse College in honor of his service to the community, working for peace and unity. Bruce A. Blitman, of Ft. Lauderdale, participated in a panel discussion about mediator ethics at The Florida Academy of Professional Mediators/The Florida Association of Professional Family Mediators’ Advanced Training seminar in Orlando. Stephenie M. Biernacki, of GrayHarris, Tampa, will serve as a teen court judge for the Hillsborough County Juvenile Diversion program. Robert L. Parks, of Haggard, Parks, Haggard & Bologna, P.A., Coral Gables, was presented with the National Service to Youth Award from the Boys and Girls Club of America in honor of his 20 years of service to the organization. Patrick A. Moran, of Ruden, McClosky, Smith, Schuster & Russell, P.A., Ft. Lauderdale, spoke at the Second Annual Forum on Commercial Finance & Asset Based Lending in Las Vegas. His topic was “The Effect of Sarbanes-Oxley Legislation on Public Finance Companies and on the Public and Private Companies in their Portfolios.” Stephen H. Sears, of Macfarlane Ferguson & McMullen, Tampa, has been elected chair of the board for a three-year term. Harry S. Cline, of Macfarlane Ferguson & McMullen, Clearwater, will serve as president of the firm from 2003-06. David R. Punzak, of Carlton Fields, St. Petersburg, has been elected chair of the Florida International Museum board of directors. Jeff E. Rubin, of Talianoff Rubin & Rubin, Miami, has been reelected chair of the United States Sailing Center, an official Olympic training facility in Miami. He has also been elected treasurer of the creditors’ rights section of the Commercial Law League of America and president of South Miami Hospital Associates. Douglas J. Chumbley, of Carlton Fields, Miami, has been appointed to the Florida Defense Lawyers Association board of directors. April 1, 2003 News and Notes April 1, 2003 Regular Newslast_img

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *